Bonaventure Historical Society offers free guided tours the weekend of the second Sunday of the month.  Tours are held at 2 p.m. on Saturday and at 2 p.m., 2:30 p.m. and 3 p.m. on Sunday. View the schedule for the coming year.

These tours take about one hour and are hosted by trained BHS tour guides. There is a limit of 30 visitors per guide; if more people show up, we divide those in attendance into smaller groups so everyone can be as close to the guide as possible as he or she narrates the tour.

If your schedule prevents you from visiting on scheduled guided tour days, you can always tour by yourself using the mobile tour app for Apple and Android devices. Download for your iOS or Android device.

Another option is to visit the BHS Visitors Center, where you can get a copy of the Historical Society Guide – for which we greatly appreciate donations.  You can also purchase an illustrated, three-dimensional map of the entire property for $6.

We offer private tours for non-profit groups and schools onlyClick here to schedule a private tour.

BHS guided tours take you to important sites in the historic section of Bonaventure Cemetery.

*Click on the map on the left to enlarge.

Free Guided Tours

The Bonaventure Historical Society will host free tours one weekend per month in 2017. Saturday tours will be at 2 p.m. and Sunday tours will be at 2 p.m., 2:30 p.m. and 3 p.m. on the following free tour days:

January

Saturday, January 7
Sunday, January 8

February

Saturday, February 11
Sunday, February 12

March

Saturday, March 11
Sunday, March 12

April

Saturday, April 8
Sunday, April 9

May

Saturday, May 13
Saturday, May 14

June

Saturday, June 10
Sunday, June 11

July

Saturday, July 8
Sunday, July 9

August

Saturday, August 12
Sunday, August 13

September

Saturday, September 9
Sunday, September 10

October

Saturday, October 7
Sunday, October 8

November

Saturday, November 11
Sunday, November 12

December

Saturday, December 9
Sunday, December 10